‘Twitter on acid’

A new social networking website is beginning to take hold in the networking world. Foursquare, which is based in New Zealand, is a new social networking site which has been labelled ‘Twitter on acid’ because not only does it update what you’re doing but thanks to GPS on mobile phones, also where you’re doing it. With the use of smart phone technology increasing at a speedy rate this could be the future of social networking.

According to Foursquare addict Ryan MacDonald there’s always been a divide between Facebook or Twitter and real life. With Foursquare you can check into places and people can see where you are all the time. I’m not sure that’s something I would love but if you’re a social butterfly fluttering across the globe and you want to catch up with friends along the way then it could be for you.

The site can apparently provide you with real life benefits: Participants can earn virtual rewards called ‘badges’, and become virtual mayors.

“At the moment I am mayor of six places,” says Mr MacDonald. In some cases, being a virtual mayor can have real life benefits – like free ice cream. “The mayor of Giapo gets free ice cream, free gelato,” says Gianpaolo Grazioli, Giapo owner.

Hmmm, I wonder what the mayor of Leeds would get???

We all know that it was the celebrities that really brought Twitter to the masses so they’re going to need some celebs on board. Luckily they do have Lady Gaga hyping the service – no surprise, as Gaga’s top three videos have been viewed 1 billion times online, and she has a huge following on Twitter.

Foursquare is still in its infancy , but who knows – it may expand as rapidly as Twitter and Facebook.

Maybe so but when I signed up to Foursquare it gave me an option to search my Twitter followers and Facebook friends to see who I know on Foursquare. Of my 313 Facebook friends only two had a Foursquare profile and I had no Twitter pals. Of course I promptly added my two Facebook friends.

My  Foursquare profile is http://foursquare.com/user/sarahonmedia I might even run for the Mayor of Leeds.

Original Source: By David Farrier http://www.3news.co.nz/Is-Foursquare-the-next-Facebook-or-Twitter/tabid/412/articleID/159317/Default.aspx?ArticleID=159317

For more new media news subscribe to my blog!


Leave a Reply

